#051 : Go Skydiving

I’ve wanted to go skydiving since I was about 18.  At that time I dated a guy that was a bit of an adrenalin junkie and so I think very early on I got an appreciation for the high one can get when taking a bit of a risk.

I’ve put it off for no other reason than money, a sense of responsibility to my son and just generally procrastinating.  But I sat in bed last weekend and thought, jeez if I don’t go now the sense of responsibility will only get worse with marriage and more kids…. so it’s kinda now, or never.

So within the space of 48 hours I had researched and chosen which place I was going to do it and booked it for today – Sunday 18th January, 2009.  I drank a little too much yesterday, so despite getting to bed early, the nervous energy coupled with a mild hangover played havoc with my stomach this morning, but after a Gatorade and a shower, we were set to go.

Bizarrely, I was not nervous once we got there, at all.  Just pure excitement running through me.  Even when we got into the tiny little plane, I still didn’t start shaking or sweating or get butterflies.  I thought that if ever I was to be nervous it would be the plane ride because I hate light aircraft.  There was another girl jumping in the same load as me and she was shitting her pants.  She kept staring at me saying, why are you so calm?!  haha.  She screamed the whole way down.  She was the last to jump, but the first on the ground, probably because her tandem partner just wanted her off him!

There were three of us in total jumping, all tandem and I was glad I went second only so that I could see the first guy fall out of the plane – that was awesome.  Getting ready to go, pulling your feet out of the plane and hanging in the door there waiting to go is the only time I was a little scared… but you get no time to even think about it before you’re suddenly spinning around above the earth and coming into freefall (220km per hour!) and lapping up every second of the 40 seconds of plunging towards the earth.  It was in a word, INCREDIBLE.

I could just go again and again and again.  In fact I can’t wait to go again because now that I know what to expect, I think I will be able to appreciate the freefall more – it was just over so fast!

Thanks to Melbourne Skydive Centre for incredible service – it’s a credit to them that I was so calm about the whole experience and enjoyed every moment of it.

dsc07809

dsc07810

dsc07826

dsc07827

3 Comments

  1. Very brave – I simply could not jump out of a plane. Actually I wouldn’t even like to go up in a small plane, so I salute you. xx

  2. I have always dreamt of going skydiving but the whole “having-to-step-out-of-the-plane”-thing scares me sooo badly. I can’t even jump off higher platform and land in water as I can’t get my feet to leave the platform…

    I’m glad you loved your experience!

  3. […] 051 | Skydive […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

