Starting the year on karma’s good side

So this year I will be getting married, taking the trip of a lifetime with my new husband, striving for senior management status at work (and if that goes pear-shaped, falling pregnant instead) and before all of that, I am planning to jump out of a plane at about 10,000 feet.

With that in mind, I thought I should start the year out on the right side of Karma.  So on January 5th, I dealt with butterflies and nausea to walk into the Australian Red Cross Blood Service in Southbank to donate blood.

give-blood-promotional-sign

The last time I had any blood taken from my veins was over 6 years ago when I had my pregnancy test at the doctor.  I fainted in the pathology room  and had a massive bruise on my arm for ages afterwards.  So I warned them as I filled in the oodles of paperwork but they assured me that if I felt lightheaded or faint or weird in any way they would just stop the procedure immediately.

I was freaking out a little, which showed in the fact that my blood pressure dropped after the needle was put in and it took AGES to get 500ml from my little veins.  The machine kept beeping (to tell the nurse that the blood flow was too slow) and the people around me came and gave their blood and left in the time it took to drag 150ml from me!  But aside from that – I did it!  I am so proud of myself for overcoming my fear of blood to do a good thing.

I will be doing it again too, when I come home from my honeymoon and this time I will be registering on the bone marrow registry as well.

2 Comments

  1. Hi there,
    I discovered your site a few weeks ago and it helped me to decide to create my own blog and start a 101 list.
    I had a similar experience to you when I tried to give blood. I wasn’t nervous or anything but the blood just wouldn’t flow and the nurse actually gave up on me as it was so slow. I don’t think I even filled half the bag, which meant that the little blood that did leave my body would not be of any use. Did I feel like a loser or what? Anyway, I am glad to hear that I am not alone and I may try to give blood again in the future. See ya.

    http://www.mydailycuppa.com

  2. Well done – giving blood and/or plasma always makes me feel good. I’m proud of you.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

