#037 – Read Change The Way You See Everything

I have had this book on my shelf for a while now and not gotten around to reading it.  When I was reinvigorating my list recently, I saw it on the shelf and wrote it down as a ‘to do’.  Completely independently of this, I have decided on my idea for NaNoWriMo and begun to try to get myself in the frame of mind required to accomplish this.

The weekend just past was glorious weather and for the first time in as long as I can remember, I lay in the backyard on a banana lounge and read books.  It was divine, I really needed it.

Change The Way You See Everything was one of the books I finished as I lay and baked in the sun.  It only took about 45 minutes to read and it is truly brilliant in it’s simplicity.  The notion of living your life as an Asset Based Thinker instead of a Deficit Based Thinker is really compelling, but certainly not ground breaking. 

Interestingly though, this is different from just straight “Positive Thinking” and also slightly removed from the whole law of attraction manifesto of The Secret.  Although I am sure the laws of attraction could coexist with Asset Based Thinking (ABT), the premise of how to instill ABT behaviours in your life are quite different from The Secret’s “teachings”.

Back on to positive thinking though, I found it pretty intriguing that my partner Adam would consider himself a really positive person, someone that doesn’t let things in life get him down, an optimist – yet despite that fact, he is probably also a Deficit Based Thinker (DBT).  This book highlighted to me that it’s one thing to present yourself as a positive person, but unless you can back it up with ABT behaviours, then you are probably coming across as negative, critical and possibly even condescending.

So what the hell am I on about?  Well it’s probably a little hard for me to explore this all in one post.  So I plan to dedicate the next 26 days to posting one ABT vs DBT thought to you per day.  Hopefully over the course of that I can explore what I learned from reading the book, help myself to put it into practice and prepare myself for NaNoWriMo in a short couple of weeks.

I’d love to discuss this with you in the comments of my posts as I share and explore this with y’all.

10 Comments

  1. […] The background to this post can be found here : Change The Way You See Everything […]

  2. Looking forward to your following posts on this! Interesting!

  3. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  4. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  5. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  6. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  7. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  8. […] and/or Buddhism 035 | Touch toes w/out bending knees 036 | No fast food for three months 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” 038 | Cook one new recipe a month 039 | Detox for six weeks TRAVEL, ENVIRONMENT & EXPERIENCES […]

  9. I loved your blog about ABT and look forward to your exploring it for 26 days. If you haven’t been to http://www.assetbasedthinking.com website, I think you’ll love it. They have success kits, videos and podcasts…lots of things that help me change my perspectives. For me ABT is much more substantive and deeper than “The Secret.”

  10. […] 037 | Read “Change The Way You See Everything” […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

