#092 – NaNoWriMo

So it’s 21 days til NaNoWriMo kicks off and I am PUMPED.  I am aiming to write every day for at least 2 hours, which means social life will take a back seat and I’ll need to be disciplined.  Helps that my detox will be done by then, so I will transfer the discipline from that to this…. oh and I will gorge myself on chocolate in the process.

But in thinking about what I will write about… I have decided to combine this with #008 – Forgive My Father.  Which will make NaNoWriMo a little heavy, but also purposeful. 

I am going to try to do some planning before I dive headlong into it, but the basic premise is that I want to write about three significant events from each perspective – mine and my father’s.  Forcing myself to step into his shoes (as a character) and write about how he could have been feeling, his values, his beliefs, his reactions to me, his thoughts, his outcomes, his regrets …and juxtaposition it with those of my own (that I know so well) will hopefully help me to humanise him and help me to forgive.

Huge, huh?  I decided this on Monday, and today I found a post on a Buddhist blog I read:

Essentially, we need to turn, and this will be ever so slowly at first, the relationship around. It’s the first turn that’s the hardest. It starts with what we tell ourselves about the other person. We try to still the negative chatter and replace it with something positive. Also, we look for their suffering. We replace our frustrated, complaining thoughts with those that are empathetic and caring. Then we’ll be ready.  

Read the rest of the post here.

1 Comment

  1. […] Countdown to NaNoWriMo So this time next week I will be starting NaNoWriMo as part of my 101 things in 1001 days. My plan is to kill two birds with one (stone) novel. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

