Time Warp

This time a year ago, I was saying goodbye to my 20s.

I was coming off the back of a disasterous, al biet hilarious round of dating anything and everything that glanced in my direction… as I was on a six month hiatus from my relationship with Adam.  Despite the multitude of dates, I’d not so much as kissed a guy, let alone held his hand.  Let’s just say I was working through some issues, one terrible date at a time.

So on August 13th last year, I wished my 20s well, told them it was nice to have lived my journey with them, but that I really wasn’t prepared to pack them into my luggage as I jetted off to my 30s.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a lot of great times in my 20s.  My son is the result of some of that fun!  Yet while I wouldn’t change a thing about my 20s, I didn’t want to take any of the guilt, regrets or anxieties of my 20s into my next chapter.  I packed the learnings in the lining of my on-board luggage… and left the rest behind.

The last year has been one of the best – ever.  Emotionally and spiritually I have hit my strides.  I’m in the peak of my career and my new role has me well poised to take supreme advantage of that.  My son is the most joyous, inspirational and grounding force in my life and I thank my lucky stars for my careless 20s.  My relationship, while not perfect, has reached a defining moment in time and I feel in control of my destiny.

Tonight I am cooking dinner for 5 of the most important people in my life and I am really looking forward to thirty-one and another year like this one.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

