Dum Dum Da-Da

Well, a whirlwind of activity has taken place since I announced my engagement! Not only am I getting married, but I have a new job that I start on July 1 and I am moving house on June 25th. Many people laugh when I tell them this, but in reality, I do this quite often – change a lot of things, all at once. I think it might have something to do with the fact that I was born in the year of the Snake (Chinese zodiac) – I regularly shed my skin and start a new chapter of my life. It seems to just be a way I do things, never by halves. All or nothing!

So since I announced my engagement, I’ve found us the most fabulous house. 3 bedrooms, 2 living areas and a studio out the back for Adam to work from home. It’s close to my son’s school and not too far from where I live now. It’s perfect! So booking removalists, packing boxes, changing addresses with all my services and trying to find a new tenant for my current house as I am breaking the lease! eeek!

I’ve also designed my own engagement ring (stay tuned!), researched and met with jewellers, researched venues for the ceremony, found one, found a dressmaker and booked my first appointement with her, asked my fabulous best friend to be my Busty Bestie (Matron of Honor) and started to write my part of the guest list. A little full on, I know, but I really want to break the back of the wedding planning before I start my new job because I know that once I start there, my attentions will be so focused on the role that wedding planning won’t factor into the equation. I laugh and tell my friends that this could well be the first “set & forget” wedding that you’ve ever seen. I can see myself getting the whole thing organised by June 30th and then just turning up on the day!

This is such a random update and so badly written, but I just wanted to check in and say HI! and that I am open to all weird and wonderful suggestions for weddings. Please! Tell me what the best and worst things have been about the weddings you’ve attended. Then add the wackiest suggestion you can come up with – go on! I might even give a little prize to the best suggestion that I use in my ceremony or reception.

Game on.

4 Comments

  1. Thats awesome Justine! Big congrats to you the 3 of you!

  2. Congratulations! That’s really exciting news. 🙂

  3. Dancing flamingos.

    You know I’m right about this.

  4. you’re certainly on a roll, justine! congratulations again! i will have to start racking my brain about ideas… i certainly have a list of “worst things”, but i’ll try and narrow it down to a “top 5”. 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

