Hemingway Meme

Now there’s an oxymoron: Hemingway Meme. Never thought you’d see those two words in one sentence, eh? I heard something like this on the radio the other day, and when I saw this on Noreen’s blog, I couldn’t be arsed waiting to be tagged for this.

Legend has it that Hemingway was once challenged to write a story in only six words. His response? “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

Late 2006, SMITH Magazine re-ignited the challenge by asking readers for their own six-word memoirs. Readers sent in short life stories in droves, from the bittersweet (”Cursed with cancer, blessed with friends”) and poignant (”I still make coffee for two”) to the inspirational (”Business school? Bah! Pop music? Hurrah”) and hilarious (”I like big butts, can’t lie”). Smith’s turned it into a book called Not Quite What I Was Planning.

After much deliberation (I created about 5 before I decided on this one), this is my Six Word Story:

Here are the meme rules:
1) Write your own six word story.
2) Post it on your blog [and include a visual illustration if you’d like].
3) Link to the person that tagged you in your post [me!], and to the original post if possible [so we can track it as it travels].
4) Tag at least five others with links.
5) Don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play.
6) Have fun!

I am tagging : elizabeth, lulu, gemma, kell, aussie

4 Comments

  1. I love your story…it’s definitely advice that will always come in handy.

  2. Thanks Noreen! It pretty much sums me up…. I have always taken the path less travelled, the path of MOST resistance!! hahaha

  3. loved this meme… really got what little creative juices i have going! hope you’re feeling better! 🙂

  4. […] having a terrifying 4 at the front of it). The blog owner had recently posted about a so-called Hemingway Meme which I found […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

