Melbourne’s Wild Winds

Anyone not from Melbourne may not be aware that our weather yesterday was like something out of a film. Winds of up to 130km per hour tore through our fine city, causing havoc; dust storms, commuter chaos and unfortunately, death.

Two people died yesterday, 200,000 houses lost power, hundreds of cars and other property were damaged by trees (some very large!) torn from the ground, and believe it or not this was not classified as a cyclone or a hurricane.

As with most situations like this, the photos tell the best story (Source : The Age):

fpp_bush2.jpg

wind03_gallery__600x399.jpg

weather27_gallery__600x383.jpg

wind05_gallery__533x400.jpg

More photos can be found here and here.

I had the displeasure of driving to Victoria St to grab a duck for my evening gourmet creation (more on that later) and on the way there it felt like the wind might actually get underneath my car and flip it on it’s side! That’s how much the car was shaking and shuddering with the gusts that hit it from the side. I parked, wondering what street sign or tree might befall my precious car, and headed to the butcher. While I was in ther, the awnings flapped about and hit street signs creating an awful racket. An extreme gust burst open the door of the butcher and then I heard someone screaming. I don’t know if she was hit by something or was just very dramatic about the dust in her eyes, but it certainly made the street stop and stare.

All the while I was panicking – my son was on a vacation care excursion to the city. As far as I was aware, he was in Federation Square, out in the open and was coming home on a train… so thoughts of derailment pervaded my mind. Sad, that I think the worst in those situations, but it didn’t help that his carers weren’t answering their mobile phones!!

Thankfully he is safe and sound, eyes a bit red from the dust storms, but otherwise unscathed. I am glad that I wasn’t ‘touched’ by this wild weather, but my heart goes out to those without roofs, with car insurance claims to fill and most certainly the families of the two people that lost their lives.

Global Warming, people – it’s only going to get worse from here. Do your bit to be GREEN!

2 Comments

  1. […] admin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI am glad that I wasn’t ‘touched’ by this wild weather, but my heart goes out to those without roofs, with car insurance claims to fill and most certainly the families of the two people that lost their lives. … […]

  2. […] Justine always has something good to say. I like this one posted earlier today. Follow the link for the whole thing.I had the displeasure of driving to Victoria St to grab a duck for my evening gourmet creation (more on that later) and on the way there it felt like the wind might actually get underneath my car and flip it on it’s side! … […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

