March 2008 : List Update

The third month of my 33-month-long list of goals and achievements – the 101 Things in 1001 Days Challenge – has come to an end. And I think March was one of my most success-driven months! I should probably have marked what date I completed these things, but I’m not that organised. So here is March in review:

It was my son’s birthday, and in the lead-up to it, I sat him down with the Australian Woman’s Weekly Kids Birthday Cakes cookbook (try saying that quickly three times!) and told him to choose which cake he most wanted for his birthday (#015). He chose a “Paddle Pool” cake… and here are the results.

We had two date nights this month (#023), the first was my turn to organise, so we went to Cookie and ate at the bar (also added to #054) before heading to the movies (a rare treat for us!) to see There Will Be Blood. And there was almost blood in the cinema as I threatened to slit my wrists within the first hour of this very long, boring, painful and pointless movie. Daniel Day Lewis was exceptionally brilliant as always though – he saved my life, quite literally.

The second date night was supposed to be arranged by my partner, but his work commitments got in the way, so we settled for a home cooked meal (by him) from the Movida cookbook that I bought him for Christmas. Meal was amazing, then we settled in to watch another film, this time No Country For Old Men. Outstanding film! This night unfortunately ended very very badly however, we argued and then didn’t speak for almost a week after it. But that is a whole other story!!

I started my social tennis group (#028) on Tuesday nights. It’s great exercise, but so not competitive that it’s a bit of a laugh as well. My next aim for this is to increase the numbers to 8 people so we can play two courts each week and up the ante on the social aspect!

I completed my list of 101 Things That Make Me Happy (#030), before April as planned.

I sent anonymous gifts to many friends (#041) and only one of them caught me out!

I took my son and a tent to Phillip Island (#052) for the weekend – what a fantastic place. You can read all about it and see the photos here.

I participated in Earth Hour (#053) and it’s inspired me to do many more things for my planet. I also found out how to get my hallogen lighting in my home to be energy efficient!

I dined at Three, One, Two (#055) with my gorgeous friend Amelia and had the most splendid experience I’ve had in a restaurant for a long time.

I struck the following films off my list (#058) : No Country For Old Men, Ordinary People, Million Dollar Baby, Gandhi and Terms of Endearment! Big Movie Month!!

I started tracking my actions on We Are What We Do (#060) and have another month and a bit to go.

I installed energy efficient lighting in my home, made sure I started switching everything off at the wall and building a pile of recycled paper for my son’s art! (#061)

I hired a cleaner! She is amazing!! (#069)

I “bought” two new pairs of Lee Jeans (#073), well they were given to me by a fantastic friend at Lee.

I read the 4 Hour Work Week (#085) and changed my life (and some of my goals on this list!)

I bought a brand spanking new BBQ (#096) and christened it by hosting a BBQ to Meet My Neighbours (#059).

*Phew*
What a month! I can’t believe I have achieved so much in such a short period of time. I find this list so inspiring. It’s time to focus on just *me* which isn’t something I do naturally as a mother and a partner. It’s helped me to achieve balance and control in my life. Who’d have thought that a simple list could achieve all this?

2 Comments

  1. congratulations….nice work:-)

  2. […] 059 | Meet my neighbours […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

