S is for Sobbing Sook

I know this was originally supposed to be A through to Z, but I’m struggling with D a bit and then has inspiration for S.  So, you’ll just have to deal with this random jump ahead!

A is for Adam
B is for Bitch

C is for Chocolate

S is for Sobbing Sook

When I was a little girl, my mum used to call me “Hard As Nails”. She called me this because it was immensely difficult to move me. Not physically of course (I was always a thin girl!), but emotionally. I never cried in Lassie. I watched ET six times and never cried. Christmas, my mum would blubber for no apparent reason, and I would watch on bemused with no idea where my mother might have left her mind.

But, then I had a child. I have absolutely no idea how pregnancy hormones rewire your brain synapses, but they do. They must. Because why would Miss Hard As Nails suddenly become Miss Cry At The Drop Of A Hat?

While I was pregnant, I expected a lot of unexplained emotions. So I could rationalise the spontaneous crying every time the Kleenex ad with the duckling came on the TV. And for a while there, after my son was born, I thought it was completely normal to cry at the Huggies advertising much like this “Hugs” ad.

But I fear, it is getting out of control. I sob every single time I watch Jerry McGuire. I go to water during the Workcover and TAC advertising on TV (see below).

TAC’s Pictures of You:

Workcover’s Homecoming:

And most recently, only 20 minutes in to the movie, The Bucket List – tears were streaming down my face.

By the end of that film, not that you would know it from the trailer, I was sobbing so much that I was suppressing the little sharp intakes of breath that are a dead giveaway in a quiet cinema that you have lost complete control of your emotions.

Am I the only one that suffers from this affliction? Am I the only sad-sack, sooky-lala, silly-sobbing sociopath?

2 Comments

  1. “Sad-sack, sooky-lala, silly-sobbing sociopath” might be a bit of a stretch – not to mention a crime against alliteration! I have some theories about why pregnancy messed with your synapses, but they’re probably best saved for another medium.

    Anyway, I think all this makes you human – that’s all. I don’t think you and I are so different when it comes to the waterworks, and I don’t have a kid to blame!

    Maybe the wise words of Chopper would help, next time you’re about to blubber all over the Kleenex puppy?

  2. Oh that TAC one has me in tears in every time!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

