The List Update

I can’t imagine why any of you would have been studying my list close enough that you would realise that I made some sweeping changes to it recently.  So figured I should explain why it’s changed.

The main reason I wrote my 101 List was to stay motivated and focused on things for me – although the first several are actually about family – because I find it really easy to focus on doing things for my son, for my partner, for people at work, for basically anyone but myself.   But as I’ve been working through it, I’ve realised that some of my items were either too ambitious, too long in their timeframes or simply that I’ve changed my priorities and I no longer think some of the items are relevant to the direction I am taking.

I don’t think it’s cheating to change it, it’s better than giving up altogether which is what will happen if I get too demotivated.

Some of the main changes are to the Work & Creativity section.  I had a lot in there about a business I was trying to start with my partner, but it’s frustrating me in that we both approach this very differently and as he’s the ‘mastermind’ behind it, I often feel like my thoughts or ideas are subordinate to his own.  I do want to start a business, but I am not sure what it is yet.  However I do know now that I want it to be my own.

I am in the middle of reading a book called the 4 Hour Work Week.  I am thoroughly enjoying it and I’m taking a lot out of it.  Some of the changes I have made to the Work & Creativity section are objectives I have made for myself off the back of what I am learning from this book.  I have already begun to make little changes, particularly in the way I am approaching email and phone calls at work.  It’s going to take me a little while to work myself up to some of it though!  So first thing’s first, finish reading the book.

Other parts of the Work & Creativity section have become more focused on creativity as I think this was really one area that was lacking in my list. 

Onwards and upwards!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

