Coke’s Summer of Plagerism

coke-summer-hugging.jpg

If Coca Cola’sSummer Huggin” ambient slash experiential campaign (captured here at the St Kilda Festival today) doesn’t look vaguely familiar to you, then perhaps you missed the Free Hugs phenomenon via youtube last year (over 24 million views!).

For Coke to take this heart-warming, spontaneous, altruistic concept and leverage it for their own commercial gain makes me sick.  Is this supposed to make me believe that Coke cares about me?  That Coke is my ‘friend’?  That if I feel like I need a hug I should go buy a Coke?

This is misguided experiential marketing… without heart, without ingenuity, without purpose. 

1 Comment

  1. […] Coke — and capitalism – ruin the Honest Tea brand and destroy its ethos? I doubt […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

