Date Night #2

So last Sunday, we had date night #2, which meant that it was my partner’s turn to organise the activities.  The date was supposed to be on Tuesday, and my partner told me that he’d bought tickets to the Rooftop Cinema and had planned to organise our dinner to be delivered from Cookie.  Sounded divine until he told me that the film playing that night was Chopper… not really quite the romantic, is he?  So I tried to fake disappointment when he told me he had to work out of town on Tuesday and wouldn’t get back in time for our date.  So we moved it to Sunday night.

I was picked up in his dirty, filthy Nissan X-Trail – ‘Welcome to your chariot’ I muttered as I got in.  And we went into the city, parked on Queen St, near Bourke St and then we were standing outside a big office-type building.  I was wondering where on earth we were going… answer was Blue Diamond.

This hidden away bar was supposed to be a “members only” club, but now accepts non-member visits (with a door charge, except on Sundays before 9pm).  The view from the wrap around balcony is sensational and the sunset was glorious, I cursed myself for not taking my camera.  The ambient lighting, kitch decor, art and design suits the live musical entertainment perfectly.  The night we were there had a Cuban type theme, but I am guessing their musical guests range from jazz, to blues, to swing to cabaret.  We gorged ourselves on tasting plates and watched the single males work their magic strategies on the (several) groups of single women – dragging them onto the dance floor.

I love this place.  I am going to arrange my next Girls Night Out here.

After we’d enjoyed a few hours here, we went home, dragged the mattress in front of the plasma and devoured several DVDs and a mint Magnum.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

