You Are What You Eat

This was sent to me via email and was a real eye opener. Each photo depicts a regular family in different countries and their weekly groceries. It also sets out the expenditure of each family in that week.

I was most horrified by the USA family, I can see two tomatoes and some grapes and the rest of their food appears to be pre-packaged, processed or synthetic.  If my son had to choose one of these families to holiday with, I know he would choose the German family, simply because they have the most meat!  He is my Mr Carnivorous.

Italy: The Manzo family of Sicily
Food expenditure for one week: US$260.11
sicily.jpg

Germany: The Melander family of Bargteheide
Food expenditure for one week: US$500.07
germany.jpg

United States: The Revis family of North Carolina
Food expenditure for one week US$341.98
usa.jpg

Mexico: The Casales family of Cuernavaca
Food expenditure for one week: US$189.09
cuernavaca.jpg

Poland: The Sobczynscy family of Konstancin-Jeziorna
Food expenditure for one week: US$151.27
konstancin.jpg

Egypt: The Ahmed family of Cairo
Food expenditure for one week: US$68.53
cairo.jpg

Ecuador: The Ayme family of Tingo
Food expenditure for one week: US$31.55
tingo.jpg

Bhutan: The Namgay family of Shingkhey Village
Food expenditure for one week: US$5.03
shingkhey.jpg

Chad: The Aboubakar family of Breidjing Camp
Food expenditure for one week: US$1.23
breidjing.jpg

9 Comments

  1. What a brilliant post. Having just returned from the US I so get that picture. And to be left with the photo of the ABoubakar family hits you where it should.
    Thanks,
    CB

  2. WOW! I will shortly be hosting a live Internet Radio Show. What a topic. I’d like to use this, I also have a website about basic cooking, http://www.journeythruthekitchen.com

    Again, WOW!

  3. Wow that’s amazing, especially the last couple; Chad and Bhutan. Looking at them all I think I’m closest to Italy, and I’m ok with that…

  4. Thanks for all your comments, and thanks to WordPress for giving this a highlight on the homepage! Maggieland, plse use this for your show! I think that’s a great idea and I’d love to hear what others think about this photo essay.

  5. Wow… as an American, I’m embarassed by what we typically eat. I’m also embarassed that it actually takes too much time to find good farmers markets in the States if you live in or near a big city.

  6. Wow, what a stunner and what a great job you’ve done with this photo essay! Although I have not successfully controlled my grocery-buying habits in terms of the monetary aspect, I am not big on prepared, processed, canned, boxed, bagged goods, so the American family distresses me and the fact that the families from Bhutan and Chad still have a few smiles on their faces is incredible.

  7. Wow. It is interesting that the ones in Egypt and Ecuador spend so little and seem to have the most produce. If an American family had that much produce in their diet, the cost for the week would double, if not triple!

    Also surprising is that even the healthier-looking tables of food still have soda pop on them. It’s so common everywhere, yet nothing but harmful.

  8. While I’d love to take all the credit, justopia, I received these fabulous pictures via email without a source to credit!

  9. Jus, the photos come from a book called “Hungry Planet” by Peter Menzel. Time did a fantastic photo essay using his photos called “What The World Eats“.

    I wish we’d photographed all our food on Australia Day now, it would have made a great comparison!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

