#058 | Silence of the Lambs

Silence of the Lambs won the best picture Oscar in 1991. That’s 17 years ago! So it is highly likely that I am one of the last people on earth to see this film.

Most people, when I mentioned this fact before now, either told me I was a heathen, or looked back at me in horror as if I might be Dr Hannibal Lecter myself.

So it was one of the first that I picked off my list to watch in 2008.

I’m not one for horror films, I really don’t see the point in scaring myself senseless and committing myself to insomnia unnecessarily. And perhaps it’s because I was only 13/14 the year this won the Oscar, or perhaps it’s my overactive imagination that lead me to the conclusion that any film about a cannibal must be a horror… in any case, this is the justification I have given myself all these years as to why I would never wish to see this film.

After 17 years, all that anticipation of the horror, the gore, the unpleasantness… actually left me with a weird sense of disappointment when I finally watched this film last night.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a brilliant film. While I might not like horror movies, I love psychological thrillers, so if someone had told me years ago that this film was no more horror that SE7EN (which I loved), then I wouldn’t have waited 17 years to watch this film!

The most amusing part of all this, is after hearing vicariously about Hannibal Lecter for 17 years, I had mistakenly assumed he was in fact a real person and that this film was based on some kind of truth about this man, Dr Lecter. Yes, go on, laugh at me.

So, one down and twenty nine to go!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

